Recent News

Excellence in Teaching Award in Honor of Ralph M. Besse

Follow Faculty Central on

Effective January 30, 2018:
The call for recommendations was sent to all current Tri-C students. The deadline to submit a recommendation is February 14, 2018. The nominees will be vetted for eligibility and then sent forward for the second step in the nomination process which includes a recommendation from faculty/staff.

Award Overview

The Excellence in Teaching Award in Honor of Ralph M. Besse is presented annually for up to 3 full-time faculty members and up to 4 part-time faculty members, college-wide, selected for exceptional professional competence and commitment to helping students succeed. Specifically, these award winners demonstrate a commitment to academic quality, stimulation of intellectual development, and investment with students within and beyond the classroom. Students are the initial driver of the list of nominees. The award is given in honor of Ralph M. Besse, Cleveland community leader and champion of higher education, who was instrumental in founding Tri-C.

The full-time winners will be recognized as John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Awardees at the League for Innovation Conference in March, 2018.

Click here for the previous Full-time Besse Award Winners

Click here for the previous Adjunct Besse Award Winners

The 2017-2018 Excellence in Teaching Award Winners:

Full-time Faculty

  1. Kristine Glasener, Associate Professor, Mathematics, Eastern Campus
  2. John Thomas, Associate Professor, Veterinary Technology, Western Campus
  3. Henry Young, Professor, Speech Communications, Metropolitan Campus

Adjunct Faculty/Lecturers

  1. Priyanka Banerjie, Adjunct Faculty, Earth Sciences, Eastern Campus
  2. Colleen Clark-Sutton, Adjunct Faculty, Sociology, Eastern Campus
  3. Jaydip DasGupta, Lecturer, Biology, Eastern Campus
  4. Pamela Simmons, Lecturer, Accounting, Western Campus

The Besse Award Winners presenting a roundtable discussion at Faculty Colloquium:

2018_01_10_Faculty Colloquium_CYP_Tri-C Faculty Colloquium 2018 by Cody York-41

From left to right: John Thomas, Pamela Simmons, Colleen-Clark Sutton, Henry Young, Priyanka Banerjie, Kristine Glasener (not pictured: Jaydip DasGupta)

The Besse Award Winners at Fall 2017 Convocation:

2017_08_22_Convocation_CYP_Tri-C Convocation Event by Cody York-85

Standing left to right: Colleen Clark-Sutton, Kristine Glasener, Jaydip DasGupta
Seated left to right: Pamela Simmons, John Thomas, Priyanka Banerjie
(Not pictured: Henry Young)

%d bloggers like this: